Blind River Beavers Cochrane Crunch Elliot Lake Red Wings Espanola Express French River Rapids Hearst Lumberjacks Kirkland Lake Gold Miners Powassan Voodoos Rayside Balfour Canadiens Soo Eagles Soo Thunderbirds Timmins Rock | Hockey Canada Canadian Junior Hockey League Northern Ontario Hockey Association

Eskimos edge Blue Devils 5-4 in pre-season action

KIRKLAND LAKE – Friday August 26 – the visiting Eskimos spoiled the Blue Devils home debut with a narrow 5-4 come-from-behind win.

The Devils led 1-0 after the first period and 3-1 after the second (at one point leading 3-zip). But the black-and-gold potted three quick goals in the first five minutes of the third frame to pull into the lead for good.

Goal scorers for the Eskis were Marc-Alain Begin, Jeffery Gagne, Jordan Delaurier, Delmer Moses and Richard Therrien.

Former Eskimo Dustin Roy had a hattrick for the home side.

J. P. Fecteau and Martin Bilodeau split the goalie duties for the Eskis with each ‘tender allowing two goals.

Adam Wood went the distance in goal for the Blue Devils.

The game also marked the debut of the four-man officiating system for the NOJHL. The relatively tame affair featured just 6 minor penalties to each side.

The Eskimos and Blue Devils complete their home-and-home pre-season exhibition series at the Igloo tomorrow night. Puck drops at 7:30 pm.


First Period


00:39 – KL – Dustin Roy (Shayne Jackson/Colen Nowry)


06:39 – Abitibi – Richard Therrien (tripping)

08:44 – Abitibi – too many men

13:57 – Abitibi – Karl Spenard (hooking)

18:36 – KL – Wes Chambers (roughing)

Second Period


04:31 – KL – Dustin Roy (unassisted) SH

13:01 – KL – ShayneJackson(unassisted)

15:39 – Abitibi – Marc-Alain Begin (Jeffrey Gagne/Justin Kord) PP


02:39 – KL – Josh White (roughing)

05:39 – KL – ShayneJackson(illegal equipment)

07:59 – KL – Marc Rowe (roughing)

07:59 – Abitibi – Jordan Delaurier (roughing)

15:17 – KL – Trevor Daynes (roughing)

16:21 – Abitibi – Karl Spenard (holding stick)

18:46 – KL – Justin Eddy (cross checking)

Third Period


01:14 – Abitibi – Jeffrey Gagne (Karl Spenard/Marc-Alain Begin)

04:14 – Abitibi – Jordan Delaurier (Marc-Alain Begin/Jeffrey Gagne)

05:13 – Abitibi – Delmer Moses (Richard Therrien/Greg St.James)

14:36 – Abitibi – Richard Therrien (Zach Innes/Chris Gartner)

17:20 – KL – Dustin Roy (Shayne Jackson)


05:56 – Abitibi – Chris Gartner (cross checking)